Notes on my “Becoming a Hadoop Specialist” session

Today I talked about how I became a Hadoop specialist/data engineer at the ITNEXT Data Engineering & DevOps meetup.

Here are a couple of links that were or not were in my presentation:

The (what I call) “hype-o-meter” site from YCombinator: https://news.ycombinator.com/

 

Sites with courses:

Coursera (fixed-date courses): Coursera.org

Udacity (self-paced cources): Udacity.org

Udemy (non-MOOC course site with crazy discounts): udemy.com

MOOC search engine: class-central.com

MongoDB University (free as long as it’s MongoDB 🙂 ): university.mongodb.com

(e)Books:

Packt Free Learning: www.packtpub.com/packt/offers/free-learning

Apress Daily Deal: www.apress.com

Humble Bundle book deals: www.humblebundle.com/books

 

Conferences:

Free Big Data conference in Utrecht: www.bigdata-expo.nl/nl

Dataworks Summit (Hadoop focussed): dataworkssummit.com  (Videos from their conferences appear on Youtube)

ITNEXT meetup (Hype, but without the hype): itnext.io/itnextsummit/home

Codemotion: codemotionworld.com

 

Podcasts:

Roaring Elephant podcast about the Hadoop ecosystem: roaringelephant.org

Drill to Detail podcast (interesting different point of view on analytics): www.drilltodetail.com

O’Reilly Data Show (mainly machine learning): www.oreilly.com/topics/oreilly-data-show-podcast

Software Engineering Radio: www.se-radio.net

Hacker Daily (Exerpts from things seen on YCombinator’s news site): hackerdaily.co

 

My employer:

Port of Rotterdam: www.portofrotterdam.com

 

About myself:

This blog (you’ve already found it): marcel-jan.eu/datablog/

My Youtube channel: www.youtube.com/channel/UCVt-roCRXgsNtIb0WjfTa4g

Me on Twitter: @marceljankr

Me on GitHub: github.com/Marcel-Jan/

 

About Marcel-Jan Krijgsman

In 2017 I made the leap to Big Data after 20 years of experience with Oracle databases. I followed courses on Hadoop, Big Data Analytics, Machine Learning and Python, MongoDB and Elasticsearch.
This entry was posted in Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *